Teaching letter sounds with construction trucks.

Letter sounds and construction trucks make for an enjoyable lesson.

Whenever I plan a lesson, I make sure my lessons are about 10 minutes long. Any longer, and a 3 year old boy will lose interest. I also make sure there are ways to continue the lesson in case he gets really involved and wants to learn more. But, for the most part, I stick to 10 minute lessons.

One of the reasons I love the idea of homeschooling is that I know my child best. Whereas in a preschool or regular school he might have to learn letter sounds using whatever they are using (animals, a book, strange words), at home I get to pick. For this lesson I picked construction trucks – he loves construction trucks.

So I had construction truck stickers (found in Target’s $1.00 value area, so I picked up a bunch), a piece of paper, and crayons. When he sat down with me I asked him what color I should use to write “Construction Site” on the top of the paper. He chose brown. I then had him tell me what letter “Construction” and “Site” began with. We sounded out the words and picked the opening letters. I was correct, so I wrote the words and showed him how they were spelled and we sounded them out. Then onto the fun part – the trucks.

 

I gave him the stickers and crayons and asked him to draw me a construction site with the crayons and put the stickers of the trucks on where they are supposed to work. He happily worked away for 10 minutes, telling me what he was doing as he was doing it. I asked questions of him if he stopped talking. “What kind of truck is that?” “What is that truck doing?” What are you coloring?” and more questions were the leading questions while he was making his construction site. When he was finished, he gave it to me and I told him what a good job he did.

Then we sounded out the words of the construction trucks. I had him discover what letter each truck began with and I helped him write those letters by the trucks.

So we worked on motor skills (coloring, pulling stickers off, writing), letters (sounds), and imagination. All while still doing it in a fun way so he would learn.

Teaching your child is about learning through fun, guiding their play, not simply sitting them down in front of books.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

