Creating a lesson plan.

Lesson planning is something all homeschooling families disagree on. Some families believe each day should have actual lesson plans, others make a list of goals, still others do a weekly list – or even a monthly list. John Holt famously said that lesson plans shouldn’t be part of a homeschooler’s life because it would make the homeschool a copy of a traditional school.

Planning has a place in the life of a homeschooler. How else do you know what you want to accomplish that day, week, month, or year? How else can you schedule trips and plan to engage in activities to make that trip meaningful? How else can you make sure to have the right supplies, books, and knowledge available? Planning has its place. This includes lesson plans.

At the moment, our lesson plans are more of a list – a checklist of things that need to get done. On the list goes the type of work we do each day – numbers, letters, mazes – books I want to make sure to read (we are reading about the Ancient Greek gods at the moment), places we should go, and any big activities we want to do. I sit down on Sunday and make our list.

After I make our list I use our lesson folders to make the lessons. I have a folder for each day of the week. All the worksheets we will accomplish in a day – whether they are homemade worksheets or store-bought ones – go into the appropriate folder (Monday to Saturday). Then a list goes into the folder of all the things we will do each day. A list is also made and put on the outside of the box of all the supplies we will need for the week so that I can double check that we have them or make a shopping trip on Monday to get them.

These aren’t involved lesson plans. I don’t have time stamps on them or anything, but I do have plans. My list method has flexibility in it and still gives me the ability to plan. Any lesson plan is a good plan, and they will get better as you go along.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Allison

     /  February 24, 2011

    I homeschooled two of my children for five years. The lesson plans became more formal as they got older, but I expected that. Mostly, I enjoyed being able to tangent into areas they wanted to go – to follow their fascinations. For example, we were able to go deeply into the physics of wind turbines. We learned Latin. We also went as fast in math as they wanted to go, which was surprising and exciting. While homeschooling did not fit the needs of my other children, I am so glad that we are able to choose what fits best for each one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

