Making spiders

 

A foam circle with the "legs" of the spider - pipe cleaners are wonderful things!

So Halloween was last week. We did a great lesson on spiders! And there were 2 crafts that went along with it to keep us in the Halloween mood. The crafts also provided the decorations for our house.

I browsed this link from Kennesaw State University to learn more about spiders before teaching this to the kids. Here’s another wonderful link to Kids Konnect about spiders as well.

The first thing we did was watch the video at National Geographic on spiders. It’s kind of gross, but the boys loved it.

We borrowed a lot of printables from this site. They had a great selection of activities for things to do with the “S is for spider” theme.

We also sang the “Itsy Bitsy Spider” song…a lot. I don’t know how much experience anyone else has with preschoolers, but the more they can sing a song, the better. It is even better if you let them do it faster, then slower, then louder, then softly, then while they are jumping, while they are spinning, while they are doing anything. if you change it up each time, they will really get the hang of the song and enjoy it.

And then we moved on to making our spiders. This whole idea started when I realized I didn’t have any Halloween decorations, and that I didn’t want to buy them. I am willing, however, to spend money in the $1 bins at Target and get craft supplies. So, a bunch of foam circles, pipe cleaners, and puffy things later, we are making spiders.

You start with a foam circle and put 4 legs on each side. The circles are easily punched through with the pipe cleaners. This forces the kids to actually do some fine motor skill work to put them together. Then you put out the glue and puffy balls and dip the balls into the glue and then glue them onto the circle. This really takes a lot more glue than you would think. Or maybe it’s just that the kids don’t do so well with glue yet. I put the eyes on after everyone was done. And there are the spiders!

We made 6 of these spiders before Nicholas lost interest in making them. They were placed all around the front entry way as out decorations for Halloween. Nicholas really liked them and thought it was fun to make them.

We also learned way more about spiders than I ever wanted to know. I don’t like them, and I really don’t like them after this.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. alavare

     /  November 6, 2011

    I can relate to this post. I think that my story time kids would like the activity and there are lots of spider songs and books to pair it with. The truth is, however, that I am deathly afraid of spiders, but I don’t want these kids to be. So I feel like exposing them to the idea that spiders are helpful and beautiful can help keep them from being the spider-fearing adult that I am.
    Also, I have a ton of pipe cleaners, but not a lot of pipe cleaner activities. I work mainly with 2-4 year olds, but I always have the parents there to assist. Any favorite pipe cleaner projects so I can use those up?
    Thank you!
    Amy

    Reply
    • You can use pipe cleaners to narrate stories. I was reading “Jack and the Beanstalk” and had the children make beanstalks out of pipecleaners. They made a trunk by twining 3 together and adds branches for each page. The branches were just pipe cleaners twisted onto the stalk and shaped in funny ways.

      You can also use them to practice making shapes and letters since young kids have a hard time controlling crayons and stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

