Zoo lesson.

Have I mentioned how much we love animals at this house? And how much we like the zoo? It was a treat to get to share this with the preschool group for once.

Here's the example for the monkey. If you want me to send you these, just send me an email and they are yours.

I got to teach the zoo lesson. As the children are all capable of writing their own letters, I made letter sheets with the common animals we would be seeing. I used monkey, zebra, giraffe, lion, and tiger. I got a picture of the animal (thank you ClipArt) and put it at the top of the page. Underneath the picture I put the word for the animal. Then I put down some handwriting lines. They were responsible for writing the word on the lines. If you would like a copy of the handwriting sheets instead of making your own, just leave a comment with a valid email address and I will get them to you.

For the various animals I also had some facts. If you want the fact sheets, click on this link.

While they were writing the word for each animal, I spent time reading the facts.

There was also an activity for each animal.

For the lions, we made masks. I had cut paper plates in half and put eye holes in them. I had taken yellow and orange construction paper and cut it into triangles. They glued the triangles to the paper plates. Then I tied string through holes on the edges and – presto – lion masks.

The lion masks looked cute. He was none too happy to have to stop roaring for the picture!

For the giraffes they had to draw a tall tree and decide how hungry their giraffe was. They had to draw enough food on the tree to feed their giraffe.

The tigers got stripes drawn on the back of the paper. They used black and orange crayons to create their own “tiger pattern.”

Monkeys got a tree drawn, with the monkey tail having to be wrapped around a branch.

Lastly, the zebras had them cutting black construction paper into “stripes” and gluing them into a stripe pattern for “their” zebra on the back of the paper.

After all the work was done with understanding the animals, we got to participate in a Zoo Olympics. I had them run a lap around the yard on their toes – without their heels touching (like lions). They got to crawl and roar like tigers from one end of the yard to the other. They had to jump like monkeys for 1 minute. I put some construction paper leaves up with tape on the wall and had them get them down (like they were giraffes eating). Then they had to slither like snakes as far as they could go in 30 seconds (we have a reptile house at our zoo). Lastly, they had to do a long jump to see how far they could jump. Everyone who completed all of these got a sticker.

There wasn’t any extra time, so we sat down to a snack of – what else – animal crackers!

Then we got to go on a zoo visit a few days later. It was a blast.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jennifer Strebeck

     /  May 21, 2012

    I would love to get copies of the handwriting worksheets! What creative ideas! I’m looking forward to using these with my 6 year old. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

