Ocean lesson.

This is what we did for our ocean lesson (the first time around).

Here’s the link to the lesson plan that the Smithsonian created to use with the ocean exhibit. The whole lesson is a bit long for what I like to do (I like to plan about 20 minute blocks). So for this lesson we concentrated on the food chain. I printed off the food chain parts, including the worksheet. We spent time reading the information on the food chain. When we were done reading, I flipped the page over so we could make our own food chains to reinforce the concept.

I drew a fish in the middle of the page. Nicholas told me what this fish ate (worms and sea weed), and drew them below the fish. He decided that a shark would eat the fish, and drew a shark above it (although it was only known as a shark because he had told me).  Then we drew arrows representing what happens with the food chain. We did another one (grass gets eaten by cows who get eaten by people who get eaten by lions) on the back of the other paper. After I was pretty sure he had grasped the concept of the food chain, we moved onto their other worksheets.

The making of the super squirter fish during our ocean lesson.

In the interest of making sure he got some computer and fun time, we played with the interactive coral reef. It was fun to play the different roles and see what happens in the coral reef.

After this, I had Nicholas make his own fish. I drew the fish on the paper, and he filled it with stickers and told me it’s name (super squirter fish), and gave a big story about the fish. Evidently, the super squirter fish is the biggest fish in the ocean and eats all the other fish. It has some guitars as scales because it likes music so much that it eats it. Also, it is the king fish so some of its scales are stars. It likes to play water guns with people who visit it in the ocean.

It was  a fun lesson. I figure the next time we do this, we will be focusing on another aspect of the ocean – like who lives in it or whales. I haven’t decided yet.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

