Adding literacy activities into our daily work.

We sometimes have problems adding enough literacy activities in our work. Don’t get me wrong – we read in our house. A lot. But sometimes I don’t put enough phonics, word building, and other skills into our work. There are a few reasons for this:

1. I think they will pick it up as they go (which they do with some things).

2. I try and let the kids direct more of their learning, and the literacy activities take more time and are less fun for them. Thus, they don’t choose them as often.

3. It’s a pain in the butt to make literacy activities, and there aren’t that many good ones out there.

4. We do literacy in our other activities; we just don’t set special time apart for literacy.

So I’m working on adding more stuff to our work days to include this. One website I really like is Confessions of a Homeschooler.

She has two pretty awesome sets of things that my kids really like – Find a letter and the Letter ladders. So I’m adding these to our lists. Nicholas likes the letter ladders better than he likes the word flowers I was having him do (same idea, but making them into flowers instead of ladders).

We will have to see how this goes.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

