Our Artist curriculum.

Water Lillies - one of the paintings we are going to study by one of my favorite artists - Monet.

Water Lillies – one of the paintings we are going to study by one of my favorite artists – Monet.

I think that art is important. The making of art and the studying of art is important. Kids don’t always like it, but it is important to be able to express yourself and enjoy pictures, sculptures, and appreciate art. I’m lucky – my sister-in-law is an artist. She’s a ceramic artist and is always happy to answer art questions I have. I also like art, so my kids probably get more of it than they would if I didn’t like art. I’ve introduced the concept of “professional artist” to my kids. Abby has decided that she wants to be an artist, and Nicholas said, “Nope, I’m still going to be an engineer.”

The artists we are studying are:

Claude Monet, Sandro Botticelli, Leonardo da Vinci (who comes up again and again as we study inventions), Raphael, and Vincent can Gough.

I really don’t like Wikipedia for sources, so I’m using the Met’s website for all my information.

Here’s what I do:

1. Print of a black and white version of the artwork: I Google “coloring pages for (insert title here),” and print off the coloring page.

2. We view the real painting online with the iPad. I ask the following questions (after I know the answer of course):

What colors are here?

What do you think this painting is about?

What do you think was used to make the artwork/What is the medium?

What emotion do you feel when you see the artwork?

3. Then I use the information I’ve taken off the website and talk about the painting (medium, style, title).

Then the kids color the artwork, while I leave the picture up online so they can see it. They often choose other colors. Last, I hand them a sheet and they glue down the information I’ve printed off. I print off: Artist’s name, years he was alive, title of the painting, when it was painted, style, and medium. I cur those pieces of information up into strips and the kids glue them onto a page. Then we insert the coloring and the information page into our artist binder.

I’ve left the lesson open ended so you can add your own paintings of choice to it. But that’s an art lesson for us for the day. We do one a week.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

