Toddler Tuesday: The counting bears.

What I had planned for our Tuesday lesson: The counting bears and some number matching with glue. Normally anything with glue is a winner, but we didn't even get to it today.

What I had planned for our Tuesday lesson: The counting bears and some number matching with glue. Normally anything with glue is a winner, but we didn’t even get to it today.

I have a horrible fascination with Amazon. It’s not horrible for Amazon, just horrible for my bank account. I love looking at things. I really do. I could spend hours just browsing through all Amazon’s stuff. If you type in “homeschool items” you come up with so many things. You just have to narrow it a bit. I was searching for “sensory bins” because I really don’t like having to make up my own. I really like it when things are done for me already – especially when I’m overbooked with other things.

I found these amazing 50 Counting Bears with 5 Cups.

What? Counting bears? Hum….they come with color cups so we can practice sorting…..and the idea of same and different…..and there are 50 of them so we can practice counting….in German too………okay, I guess I can get them.

That’s exactly how the conversation went in my head. Part of the problem with Amazon is that stuff is cheaper than it would be in a traditional store. I’ve seen these at other “learning stores” for over $15.00. That makes it easy to say no. $7 and change is simply one fewer books for me this month. That’s an easy one to do.

So what did we do with them? I put the bears in a pile, put the cups in a stack, and said to Abby, “Want to play?”

Here’s what she did – all on her own:

1. She counted the bears. She simply separated them into groups of 10 – because that’s all she wanted to count to. Then she said, “I have lots of groups of 10.” At which point Nicholas stepped in and informed her that 5 groups of 10 isn’t a lot because 5 times 10 is only 50. Nicholas defines a lot as “more than 100.” Thus, he has a lot of pennies, but

Abby and her bears and their cups. She was sorting, matching, counting, and naming colors. Simply because she had bears and cups.

Abby and her bears and their cups. She was sorting, matching, counting, and naming colors. Simply because she had bears and cups.

he doesn’t have a lot of dollars.

2. She put the colors all together – into different colored cups. The purple bears went into the blue cup, the yellow bears into the red cup, and so forth. Okay – so that’s not matching so much as it is sorting. But I’ll take the sorting.

3. She then dumped them all out, mixed them up, and made her dolls jump over them because the dolls were having a jumping party.

4. She sorted the colors into the matching colored cup – but did it in German because English is “too easy.” (Those are her words not mine).

Wait – did I mention she did all this without me having to do it for her, or lay out the “rule” or “parameters” or an exercise? I did? Isn’t it great when this happens?

Did I also mention that it took up most of the morning, because she decided to repeat the sorting process more than once? She used these bears for almost 3 hours – the same amount of time it took me to get Nicholas to finish his math and spelling (he didn’t want to do it – he wanted to not do it, but he had not done it last week  – so it was time to finish).

That was our very fun, totally Abby-driven, Tuesday.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

