Our summer reading is arriving!

Our floor can look like this. Lots of books. Everywhere. But that's good because it encourages reading.

Our floor can look like this. Lots of books. Everywhere. But that’s good because it encourages reading.

I like books. I love books. In fact, we have boxes and boxes of books. We just moved, and moved over 30 boxes of books. I have a hard time parting with books.

My kids like books. They read all the time. In fact, the other night I caught them (2 hours after they were supposed to be asleep) in my son’s room, with him reading a HUGE stack of books to Abby. There must have been 15-20 books in the stack. Nicholas is currently obsessed with Greek Mythology and loves reading myths. Abby just likes Minnie Mouse and Strawberry Shortcake. She also likes anything her brother reads to her.

I’ve been pursuing the web, looking for fun and interesting books that I think will hold my son and daughter’s attention this summer. Here’s the list I cam up with (and ordered) so that we have new books for summer. Our goal is one a week. But normally it goes about 1 a day. Then we head to the library and check books out, and then read those too.

Someone asked me how I get my kids to read? The answer is simple – I like to read. I encourage reading. We read together. We have reading time. We have LOTS of books around (see above about the boxes of books). When kids are exposed to books and someone who loves reading, they will love reading too. It’s great because they learn and grow, all without realizing they are actually doing anything important.

And before you ask – yes, I indulge my children’s peculiarities by getting them books about characters they like. I want to encourage reading in all it’s shapes and forms. This means reading whatever they want. It is reading. And that’s what matters most.

Here’s the first summer reading list for our house:

Ella Bella Ballerina and Cinderella

Ella Bella Ballerina and Swan lake

The Three Ninja Pigs

Ninja Red Riding Hood

Trouble at the Arcade (Hardy Boys: The Secret Files)

The Missing Mitt (Hardy Boys: The Secret Files)

Have You Seen My Dragon?

Treasury of Greek Mythology: Classic Stories of Gods, Goddesses, Heroes & Monsters

Puppy Love! (Strawberry Shortcake)

The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle

The Hero’s Guide to Being an Outlaw

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

Reading Adventures Disney Princess Level 1 Boxed Set

May I Please Have a Cookie? (Scholastic Readers, Level 1)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

